Law: Books

The library povides access to ebooks from University Press Scholarship Online, the largest part of them is published by Oxford University Press. Use the remote access off campus .

University Press
Scholarship Online

Ebooks from SpringerLink are accessible in National access, use the remote access when abroad. It is advisable to uncheck the Include preview only content to limit to content in fulltext. Over 20.000 sources within law are available at SpringerLinkOnline.

SpringerLinkOnline

Encyclopedia in International law: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (use remote access off campus: remote access)

Encyclopedia:  Britannica Online (use remote access off campus: remote access)

Dictionary (Icelandic, English, Danish, Polish, French, German, Spanish, Italian) - Snara.is  (use remote access off campus: remote access)

English law dictionary - The Law Dictionary

Norwegian law dictionary - Jus leksikon

Leitir.is the online library catalogue of all books available in Icelandic libraries and electronic journal articles in the national consortia access.

Use ru.leitir.is to search only within the Reykjavik University library collection. 

Sign in with your Icelandic Social Security Number to renew loans and reserve books. Only books already on loan can be reserved. You will receive an RU e-mail when the book is ready to be picked up. The book is reserved for three days. Unclaimed reservations will be lent to the next in line. Send an RU e-mail to library@ru.is for assistance with signing in and password.

A new academic ebooks library is now available at Reykjavík University with access to almost 200.000 titles:

ProQuest Ebook Central

To activate your access to Ebook Central for the first time you need to:

1. Be in the university building
2. Click on "Forgot username or password"
3. Put in your RU email address and select "Reset password"
4. Finish the setup from your email account

• at the circulation desk in the library
• one copy of all textbooks and selected recommended books for graduate programs
• on-campus loans from Monday to Fridays
• on Fridays, it is possible to borrow textbooks over the weekend, but they have to be returned before 9 am on Monday
• when the library is closed, books may be returned in the return box outside the library.

The library uses the Dewey decimal system to organize the books on the shelves.

Main categories for law: 

340 Law
341 International law
341.48 Human rights
342 Constitutional & administrative law
343.04 Taxation law
345 Criminal law
346.03 Tort law
346.06 Company law
347 Procedure & courts
348 Laws, regulations, cases
351 Public administration